Seoul Jazz Academy

Seoul Jazz Academy

Seoul Academy

Seoul Academy

We broke off for individual master classes at The Seoul Jazz Academy, which is a really cool jazz school in Seoul. It is accredited and affiliated with The Berkley School of Music in Boston. I had a group of aspiring jazz pianists and composers, along with a few drummers who wanted to learn more about chords, and the language skills needed to play jazz. I took them through my system for an hour, and then the quartet got together for a 1 hour concert at the school. Before the master class I had about 30 minutes to wait for the students. I sat down at the beautiful Yamaha grand piano in the performance space, and a composition just came out of me. I quickly wrote it down, and had the embassy interns make copies for me. During our performance we demonstrated how we sight read and rehearse a composition for performance. Also it gave a great look at just how we prepare and perform a piece of music. We did a really nice performance of this new tune. It was titled “Soul in Seoul”. It was a premiere and it was fantastic for me as I wrote something, and was able to hear it performed immediately. The sound on stage was absolutely perfect, so I felt we were playing at our top level. We were really able to dig deep into the music and reach for new ideas, and dig spiritually into the music. I was in heaven once again as we knocked out one tune after another, just like it was a walk in the park. This band is really bonded. We are one!

