RIF 1 Baseball

Unfortunately 15 years ago I tore a ligament in my back between the sacroiliac, and the spine. It was down low near the L5 disk. I was around 40 years old, and Dr. Richard Bachrach told me it was a very dangerous spot to do surgery, so we opted for a revolutionary therapy called Prolotherapy in which I received injections, and trigger points for 12 years. It worked well, as it rebuilt the ligament so it holds the disks in place. Unfortunately I was left with 2 herniated disks, which are for the most part I am able to maintain with stretching. Once in awhile the old back does slip out a little, and I can go into spasm for while. As we all know it creates intense pain, and inability to even walk or sit properly.

Well here is what I discovered. You take a baseball, and lie on the floor and roll on it. Put the baseball near the top vertebrae next to your spine. Lie on it for 5-10 seconds and then roll the ball outwards away from the spine to the outside of your body. Remember do not put the ball directly on your spine. Put it next to the spine in the vertebrae space, and roll it outwards. Do this for each vertebrae going down your back to the L5 at the bottom. Do it on both sides of the spine, and it will create the balance. It is sort of like Shiatsu pressure points. The pressure opens up the space between the vertebrae. Use a RIF 1 baseball made for little kids 7 years and under, as it is a little softer than a hardball. A hardball will work, but it is not as comfortable. The RIF ball is a little softer, but hard enough to create the necessary pressure. It is amazing. It works to relieve the pain, and pressure of the back shift that happens during spasm.

