I have had Miles High Records for over 10 years and have released 26 CD’s on the label. I have learned quite a lot about the record business and how and what needs be done to give an independent artist maximum exposure. My friend and colleague of many years Tim Hegarty asked me to produce and release a project for him. I hired the best and most swinging  rhythm section i could find in Kenny Barron, Rufus Reid, and Carl Allen. I joined the band for 5 cuts on vibes. The selection of tunes for this project was vital. I needed to have tunes that would clearly establish the credibility factor for Tim Hegarty. Tim is a fine player that many do not know. When you establish credibility in jazz you must address the tradition of the music. Tim’s concept for the CD was a tribute to his teachers he studied with as well as the teachers we all study. Music chosen was written by some of the key saxophone and jazz masters. George Coleman, Jimmy Heath, Frank Foster, Monk, and Joe Henderson. Not hard to find great tunes that those guys wrote. Anyway it was a very inspiring session and following the session on the 1 hour ride home I began listening to the reference mixes from the days work. I was so inspired from playing all day with Kenny Barron that I arrived home at 11pm and began to transcribe his 2 choruses on the tune entitled “New Picture”. I just had to learn this solo. And as a result of my transcription Down Beat magazine has agreed to print the transcription in the their Oct 2014 issue in their “Woodshed section in the back of the magazine. I highly advise everyone to pick this CD up. Tim Hegarty “TRIBUTE”. It swings really deeply from the first downbeat!! www.mileshighrecords.com

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

